MCCA Today

Home » MCCA Today

Advocacy Brief – January 29, 2016

This week, the Missouri General Assembly began their review of the Governor’s budget and spending priorities that he announced in his State of the State Address.  For Missouri’s colleges, the real budget discussion begins next week when the House Higher Education Appropriations Committee and Budget Committee hold hearings for presentations from higher education institutions. East Central College President and MCCA Chair Dr. Jon Bauer and Judy Parkhurst, Vice President of the Board of Trustees at State Fair Community College, will represent our ... Read more

MCCA gears up for the legislative session

Given its rather tumultuous ending, we’re sure to feel the effects of last session well into the New Year. Furthermore, Missouri’s political climate was electrified by the events still unfolding at Mizzou and on other campuses across our state.  And, on top of it all, it’s an election year.  There’s no doubt the 2016 session will be an interesting one, wrought with challenges and opportunities for our colleges. Below is a list of MCCA’s top legislative priorities for 2016, as well ... Read more

MCCA honors 70 individuals for outstanding service to community colleges

Use the arrows on the right and left sides of the photos above to scroll through the pictures from convention. Each year, the Missouri Community College Association honors excellence among community college staff, students and supporters. This year we honored some 70 individuals who have made significant contributions to their community through their local colleges. Ann Brand - Mel Carnahan Award Ann Brand worked in marketing, outreach and government relations at St. Louis Community College for some 30 years before retiring in 2013. In ... Read more

Department of Higher Education adopts MCCA recommendations to keep Missouri’s A+ promise

The Department of Higher Education moved forward with recommendations provided by the Missouri Community College Association in an effort to ensure that nearly 13,000 students will continue to benefit from Missouri’s A+ scholarship program. The program faced potential budget shortfalls earlier this year and is expected to experience shortfalls in the future. To address the projected shortfalls, MCCA developed and recommended two cost saving measures that were adopted by the Department of Higher Education yesterday. Going forward, in addition to existing eligibility requirements, ... Read more

Convention keynote speaker announced

At community colleges, we are passionate about helping our students to succeed, whether that is in school, on the job, or in life.  The 51st Annual MCCA Convention will take a deep dive into this topic, under the theme of Student Success: Retention and Completion. Today, we are excited to announce this year’s keynote speaker is Dr. Mark Taylor.  Dr. Taylor is an expert on multigenerational issues, and he will help kick-off an informative (and fun) event. According to Dr. Taylor, today’s students ... Read more

Department of Higher Education considers MCCA A+ Program Recommendations

It’s no secret that the A+ program and most importantly our students have faced financial uncertainty over the last year.  What is certain, though, is that something has to change for our state to keep the A+ promise made to thousands of Missouri students.  MCCA is working to achieve that change. Representatives from all 12 community colleges and the Department of Higher Education joined MCCA’s A+ Task Force, co-chaired by NCMC President Dr. Neil Nuttall and OTC – Richwood Valley President Dr. Jeff Jochems.  ... Read more

2015 Phi Theta Kappa and Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

2015 Phi Theta Kappa All-Missouri Academic Team First Team Sherell Adams** Caroline Guerin Lindsey Summers*** St. Louis Community College-Forest Park Cottey College Moberly Area Community College Brody Aubry*** Kerstyn Larash Jacqueline Vernon*** Jefferson College St. Louis Community College-Wildwood Metropolitan Community College-Longview Alina Ghulam Rasool+ Dawn Little** Cottey College East Central College Gage Borgfield* Jade Maragliano** Metropolitan Community College-Longview St. Louis Community College-Wildwood +New Century Scholar *Gold Coca-cola Scholar **Silver Coca-cola Scholar ***Bronze Coca-cola Scholar Second Team Joseph Donavant Miranda Keller Sarah Ogent State Technical College of Missouri Mineral Area College St. Louis Community College-Meramec Jakob Ganschow Katherine Murphy Elke Quinn Metropolitan Community College-Blue River Ozarks Technical Community College-Table Rock Ozarks Technical Community College- Jeffrey Gibbons Jennifer Kennedy Richwood Valley State Technical College of Missouri St. ... Read more

Bonding for capital projects gets Senate approval

The Senate perfected SB 723, filed by Senator Mike Parson, on Thursday. The bill raises the cap on the dollar amount of bonds the state may issue and provides that the additional funds this would generate will be used for the renovation or repair of existing buildings or facilities. The bill itself does not list the projects that would be completed. Senator Parson plans to introduce a concurrent resolution that would list the specific projects. Much of the substantive discussion about the ... Read more

$10 Million Reasons to Smile

The House Budget Committee has recommended a $10 million equity increase for community colleges, as well as a 3% increase for all public colleges and universities.  Both would be core increases, with the 3% to be appropriated based on the performance funding model. The community college equity increase was included in House Budget Chair Rick Stream’s version of the budget, and no amendments were introduced to reduce the amount when the committee went through the “mark-up” process this week. In addition, the committee ... Read more

2012 Convention Award Winner Press Releases

Award of Distinction Ruth Lewis Emerson Administrative/Professional Leadership Award Steve Maxey Distinguished Alumni Award Tina Montgomery LCDR Tina Cox David Freese Distinguished Business/Industry Award The Donaldson Company Denny Koonce Cerner Corporation Distinguished Legislator Award Rep. Mike Lair Rep. John Rizzo Rep. Rick Stream Sen, Kiki Curls Sen. Brad Lager Classified Staff Achievement Award Debbie Shaffer Global Educator Award Dr. Cindy Epperson Mel Aytes Faculty Innovation Award Lisa Adams MoHealthWINs Partnership Award Metropolitan Community College and Full Employment Council News Media Award Kate Uptergrove Tony Wrisinger Senior Service Award D’Ann Dennis Cookie Hayes Matt McCready Anne Mahoney Karen McKenzie Diana Grahn Jeff Allen Lisa Minis Diana Stuart Valerie Darst Vicki Weaver Michael Pulley Heather McDorman Eileen Phillips Philishea Ingram Linda Nissenbaum Marilyn Taras Steven Scheiner Kathy Richardson Student Leadership Award Diana Oplachkova Laura Riegel Maria ... Read more
Page 6 of 6« First...23456